Images

Sunbeam® Sensor Egg Automatic Cat Deterrent

Sunbeam® Sensor Egg Automatic Cat Deterrent

Details

078902-200-000

The Sunbeam® Sensor Egg Automatic Cat Deterrent uses burst of air to help keep cats off counters and furniture and away from curtains and houseplants.

See More...

Additional Information

When a cat enters the protected zone, the Sunbeam® Sensor Egg Automatic Cat Deterrent detects its presence and emits a burst of air. The sound that it creates startles the cat and natural instincts take over and causes the cat to leave the area.

Sunbeam® Sensor Egg Automatic Cat Deterrent is rated 2.1 out of 5 by 57.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best deterrent yet! I've bought 20-30 different products - usually something you spray on furniture, carpets etc. Nothing works - and some left stains. I tried all the other remedies others claimed worked from them, bubble wrap on furniture or taped to corners, spritzing with water bottle. Again no luck. I've moved this from item to item (flat screen tv, curtains, antique rug - and all 3 cats have finally learned where they can climb and play and where they cannot. And, because I'm not the one hissing at them - unlike me spritzing them, I'm not the bad guy. Wish this was around 17 years ago when I had my other cats.
Date published: 2014-05-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed I purchased this at PetSmart and initially after some fumbling with the awkward battery arrangement, it began to work. It did seem to have a hair trigger sensor and went off frequently when I thought I was out of range. A few days later my cat was sitting directly in front of it, no puff of air. I thought it was broken but the cartridge was completely empty. It does not take standard air cartridges. Amazon does not have refill cartridges available at this time, neither does PetSmart. I have checked. I was initially excited that this would be the solution for my cats scratching my new couch, now disappointment.
Date published: 2017-06-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from It worked... for a few hours. After the first few hours it just started venting the can. The cats weren't anywhere near it at the time. I suspect a fault O-ring, but I'll be returning it tomorrow.
Date published: 2014-05-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bought this a month ago :-( After it ran empty bought 2 replacement canisters ...that's all they had.. installed he new canister and it does not work! Tried the other canister .. surprise it does not work... You can here the solenoid clicking but nothing. inspected the o-ring and it is flawless...just a click.. click and maybe a slow hiss... being a master mechanic with extensive A/C training I think the reed valve in the solenoid is stuck.. So my conclusion is this product is junk !!!
Date published: 2015-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This really does work for both of my cats I have had problems keeping my Russian Blue 6 years old and our Tabby 7 months old off our kitchen counters and table especially at night. I tried sticky tape, I tried plastic rug runner with the grips turned up to no avail until I tried the Sensor Egg. The Petsmart employee told me had one and it worked great and I was a little skeptical but since the first night when we put it on the kitchen counter and we turn it on the cat's hear that first shwoosh burst and both of them run into our bedroom and they stay in there all night. I am amazed especially since they are not harmed in any way. I did have problem with the egg itself not working right after 3 days but it was replaced no problem so I am very pleased with this product.
Date published: 2018-06-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Works Sometimes The distance away from the unit is too far. Wanted to use with our Christmas Tree, but the cat just kept going near other items and setting it off. If the distance was like 2 feet would be great or if you could adjust the distance it would really be great. Our cat used up a whole can of air just during the first night of use. It did scare the cat, but the cat could not go almost anywhere in the living room without setting it off.
Date published: 2014-12-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worked great first day I have returned the original and the second one lasted about a day and will not spray even with new batteries and a new can even though it only blasted about 4 times and original can seemed pretty full still. Such a waste of time. It works great when working the first day. Hah. So same exact issue with two eggs. Seems like you guys have a major defect. Will be returning this one as well and not purchasing a 3rd.
Date published: 2018-06-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Works great, until it doesnt We bought this to keep cats from digging at carpet to bedroom. It worked, cat stopped then started to dig in living room. When we turned it on, it clicked to indicate it was sensing motion, but no spray. I figured the can had just leaked empty as unit sat turned off for about 2 weeks. Went and bought a new can, when I took old can off realized it still had plenty of product, weight felt the same as new can. So long story short, it worked for a week, less than a month later it doesn't. Waste of $40, plus a refill can. Shame, had such high hopes.
Date published: 2018-06-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Problem product Bought this to keep the cat off my new granite counters. The cans are leaky, bought one and when I got it home, discovered it was already empty. They replaced the can for free, got IT home, and when I installed it in the egg, all the contents immediately leaked out around the fitting. Very pricey, might be effective if the cans werent so leaky. Would not reccommend it to anyone
Date published: 2015-02-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worsh product I have ever bought Not only we paid to much for something that doesn't work. We have hade the product longer then a week thinking it would get better. It got worsh the dogs don't stop barking. The egg we payd with tax $ 42.78 . Very poor design and it only works with a 9 volt battery. Instead of adding a electrical for it. I have toll my friend that have similar problem not to buy this product.
Date published: 2016-03-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too costly It's not that it's so expensive, but when you insert the canister, you have to screw it into place and it is releasing has the entire time, so even though we attached the canister quickly, I believe we lost approximately have the volume. I set it up at roughly 9pm, and by morning the canister was empty. It was also going off randomly when there was no one near it. It does deter my cats from getting near it, but they sit ten feet away staring at it while it hisses at them. We will be investing in a different brand going forward.
Date published: 2016-04-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great tool terrible design Works excellently as a pet deterrent. Unfortunately, the smooth design is difficult to hold and the cylinder as a result is almost impossible to replace tightly such that it does not leak. Changing the way the back/ bottom comes off could solve this. Will not buy or recommend until this design failure is solved
Date published: 2014-06-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Jury is still out on the Sunbeam Sensor Egg! I bought this product two days ago, excited to see if it would deter my recently adopted cat from jumping on the kitchen counters. I placed the egg on the counter and turned on the unit. In less than 12 hours, the can that came with the egg was out of air, light flashing. I went to purchase refills at Pets Mart and was surprised to see that they cost $14.99 per 'small' can. This could get quite expensive if it becomes necessary to use two or more per day. I'm not sure if I'm happy with this purchase.
Date published: 2018-03-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Waste of money. Very disappointed. Works (sometimes). Motion sensor is sporadic, and my cat will only set it off half of the time. The other half I'll set it off by just walking behind the thing! This, though, wouldn't warrant 1 star. It's that the canister (which is awful to put in) gives you 6-8 sprays, tops, before it's gone. My cat can do that in a day or two. Spending the $15 for a can to give me 6 sprays after spending 45 for the product? No. I wish I could return it. It's just going to sit in my closet. Complete waste of money.
Date published: 2016-01-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Motion sensor is inconsistent, faulty My cat is definitely afraid of it, but the motion sensor only picks up his motion about half the time. We tried it overnight to keep him away from the bedroom door, but he still ended up scratching early in the morning.
Date published: 2014-04-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Can't live without this little guy I've had the egg sprayer since about July, when I moved into my house... My two fuzzball cats assumed that my retro looking couch was their new hotspot, especially with it being under a big window with a backyard view. I had been racking my brain for ideas on how to effectively deter them, my mother bought the sprayer to try out. Now I absolutely cannot do without it, my cats have 0% interest in the couch or window. The best part is that you can move it to different areas that you don't want them to go near or on. Be mindful of where you put it, because I've forgotten and scared myself more times than I can count. Overall I believe that it was a great purchase and is extremely effective. I'm debating on buying a second, so that I can fully protect the Christmas tree from my 11lb Maine mix kitten..
Date published: 2014-11-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Spent WAY to much for short lived canisters I purchased this product about a month ago with great hopes of keeping my Savannah from going upstairs and marking. Well, I will say that it works with the hissing sound it makes, but I noticed that the canister would only last 1, maybe 2 days before it was empty. With the price of the canisters at $15 each, its not a sound financial decision to continue to purchase them. Returning this to the store and going to try the Ssscat, with canisters at 1/2 the cost. Sorry Sunbeam, I tried.
Date published: 2016-07-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from WORKS GREAT GETS EMPTY QUICK The Product itself does work very well. My cat does get scared of it and soon as he sees the thing, he takes off running. The problem is that the aerosol can does not last for a long time. After 5 - 6 sprays the can is empty. Paying 13 dollars per can it gets a little expensive to continue refilling this thing. So after the second can we stopped refilling it. Now we are looking for a different product that has the same effect but that does not need to be refilled after one day.
Date published: 2015-03-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Junk The can will not seal and empty's in minutes......
Date published: 2014-04-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worked just a day. Could've been a great solution It worked great and promising for a day. Then the next day, not even 24 hours, the spray start weaker and completely no spray. The sensor seems to be working because it make a faint clicking sound and green light is still flashing. This one must be a defect or the model design must have defect because other customer reviews show the same issue. Is that possible I can get prompt refund or replacement? It was a great idea and product if it worked.
Date published: 2018-06-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great concept, poor design and not cost effective The product works, but the design for loading the cartridges is weak at best. You're supposed to screw in the canister but there's not enough room for your fingers to fit in to screw it in, so a LOT of air comes out that can. Once it's in it works fine, but the cans of replacement air are half the price of the unit, so it's a great idea but just not a cost effective design. I'm returning it and looking for another product.
Date published: 2017-11-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Effective, but needs range adjustment. This device worked on my three incorrigible counter cruisers the very first day. Two blasts of air, and my cats were done with going anywhere near it. However, the device also hisses at me, no matter where I place it. It detects me as I am walking down he hall ten feet away when it only needs to be triggered by any feline action happening about two feet away. I wish there was some way to adjust the range,
Date published: 2016-01-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from works but to pricey to refill Refill cans are difficult to screw in and you lose too much air doing it. So although the product works, the refills are expensive and don't last long at all for the cost of this product. It's a shame because if the refills were inexpensive I would recommend it to many cat rescue people and adopters but not at this price for a refill.
Date published: 2016-11-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Returning It stopped my cats from jumping on my table when it worked but it stopped working after a few day. I thought it was the cartridge so I replaced it and that was a waste because when I turned it back on it didn't work. It sounds like it's trying but nothing is happening. Luckily I found the receipt because I'll be returning this.
Date published: 2017-07-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Good things don't last! I really wanted this to work despite reading negative reviews...hoping I could trust the few good ones out there. I spent the $$$ and it only worked for the initial can. Since I have replaced batteries two times and replaced the air cartridge 4 times (more $$$). I just tried it for the FINAL time. Not wasting any more money!
Date published: 2017-10-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Works but doesn't last! The egg works very well as a deterrent. Cats hate the noise. Unfortunately, the canisters of gas last for about a half-dozen squirts and then need to be replaced. In my house with my three cats, this means a canister lasts a few days at best. WAY too expensive to keep replacing these! So I would give this a big thumbs-down.
Date published: 2014-04-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Money for Nothing! Just picked up a Senso Egg in an attempt to keep our cat off the kitchen table. Followed the instructions, installed new batteries, screwed canister in quickly, turned on the unit, green light blinking and then nothing! Not impressed at all, will be calling customer service tomorrow morning, then taking back to the store.
Date published: 2016-05-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It works Keeps a determined cat for destroying the living room corner with urine again after repairs. Has a few issues, but nothing else worked. Unfortunately the cat adapts too, so need a second one. Do not hesitate to recommend if you really have a problem because everything else is just perfume for the cat, not repellent.
Date published: 2016-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WORKS ON DOGS TOO! Found this at Petsmart while looking for something to keep my three dogs away from the christmas tree. Works great! They are terrified of this hissing thing and I love it. I've had it on fulltime for almost two weeks and still on first canister of air. Two Italian greyhounds and a 45 pound lab mix.
Date published: 2014-12-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worked great I bought this product to deter our cat from the kitchen counters. It worked great and he hasn't been near the counter even when there is no air left. Bought a second one to protect the Christmas tree...same results. Only negative is replacing air canisters at $10/can but better than soiled house!
Date published: 2014-12-15
  • y_2018, m_7, d_18, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_57
  • loc_en_US, sid_078902-200-000, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_sunbeam